The Dr. Phillips House, just to the east of the Wellborn, offers grand Victorian rooms and elegant period furnishings. Choose from queen or king four-poster beds and sleigh beds. Blending charming luxuries with modern amenities, other features include fireplaces, double whirlpool tubs, marble showers, hardwood floors, in-room refrigerators, and pieces from the Chalet Glass art collection.
The house is named for Dr. Philip Phillips, the central Florida legend who was a major force in the development of the citrus industry in the late 19th century. Dr. Phillips and his wife, Della, were prominent supporters of the arts, hosting many cultural events and Sunday afternoon musicales at the house. Their support of the arts continues to this day as profits realized by Dr. Phillips, Inc. are returned to the community in the form of gifts and grants to educational, cultural, and charity organizations.
Dr. Phillips purchased what was then the Peckham House, which was built in 1893 by Col. Peckham as a wedding present for his daughter. Months of remodeling included removal of the facade's two-story porch and replacing it with a massive portico supported by four towering columns, and replacement of the outdated gas lighting with electricity. Extra bedrooms and a cellar were added to the interior, and by 1912 Dr. Phillips and family made the house home. A carriage house with an upper floor was added north of the house, near present-day Anderson Street, but was later destroyed.
As late as 1986, the Dr. Phillips house was the primary attraction of the Designers' Show House by the Orlando Opera Guild, but in the years that followed, the house fell into disrepair until acquired and renovated by the Courtyard at Lake Lucerne.
Renovations began by adding a two-story porch topped by a surprising spiral staircase leading to the third floor, and for the first time in the house's century-plus history, air conditioning was installed to cool the interior. Throughout the house, architectural details were rediscovered as refurbishment progressed. Layers and layers of paint were painstakingly removed from the central staircase to expose the original magnificent woodwork of the rails, spindles, and newel post. Pocket doors found buried within some of the first floor walls behind shoddy millwork were returned to a condition Dr. Phillips himself would appreciate.
The once dreary, unfinished attic has been turned into a pair of unique third-floor suites both including king beds, whirlpool tubs and separate marble showers. The second-floor guestrooms have been redesigned to include private bathrooms, some with marble showers and all with whirlpool tubs. A few of the rooms still have the original hardwood floors and fireplaces, and all are decorated with comfortable furniture, significant artwork, and fine antiques discovered throughout the world. Months of toil restoring the house were recognized by the City of Orlando when presenting The Courtyard at Lake Lucerne with its George L. Stuart Jr. award for historic preservation.